Being sick is never fun.
Being sick WHILE PREGNANT is like death. I've had a cold since last Monday and have been coughing my head off; scratchy throat, dry cough, had mucus stuck in my throat and it wouldn't come up. That was it. On Friday, I got worse so I headed to the doctor and he gave me an inhaler to open up my airways (because I was, at that point, wheezing) and told me to buy some Mucinex DM. I did that every four hours, four times a day on Friday and Saturday. Saturday morning I felt good enough to go to a band competition that our Alma mater marching band was competing in, an hour and a half away. We got back around 11:30pm that night and as soon as my head hit the pillow I was out. At 1am I woke up violently spitting up colds and from that moment on I couldn't breathe and felt burning in my chest. I told my husband around 3:30am that it was time to go to the hospital that I couldn't take the pain and not being able to breathe much longer. So I went and we stayed up there for 6 1/2 hours and they found out I had pneumonia. Luckily it was the kind that a Z-pack can help cure so they sent me on my way.
I had pneumonia when I was in the 5th grade. I was able to go to school, but had to stay inside at recces for a good week or two because it was December and extremely cold outside. This pneumonia now was like no other. My back and sides hurt from coughing so much. My head hurts from spitting up so much of the colds in my chest. My throat burns from the coughing and I feel completely weak (at the moment). I do, however, have more energy than I have in the past two days. I can't wait for this to be over.. because being pregnant and sick SUCKS.
No comments:
Post a Comment